Columbus Graffiti Throwback: DIE BSA/KNK/TLM

I shared a couple crews with DIE.  He was seriously so good as the wall shows. In the late 90’s to mid 200o’s few people were as fresh as DIE.

DIE was my first close gay friend. I know it probably seems weird to introduce a writer like that. Like his wiki is “dope pieces” and “gay writer”. But I remember when Die came out; he offered to drop out of BSA because he didn’t want me to experience negative repercussions from the Hip Hop community.

This isn’t to say DIE was a coward. He just knew how the world worked and cared about his friends.

Think about that idea though: ‘Yeah, you burn me every time we paint, and you are one of my best friends but yeah we can’t have that gay shit’.

I told him that we had his back 110 percent and then probably tarnished the moment slightly by making an awkward joke.

THank god in 2013 Hip Hop has come to the point where it’s not socially acceptable to hate gays.

:  Die BSA/ KNK/ TLM @ More Than Music Fest 2002…I think?

But I am putting it out there so if any gay writers are coming up and hang out with dudes that say some dumb homophobic shit: AN OHIO GRAFFITI LEGEND WAS GAY.  I know there have been a zillion gay writers. But still… It never hurts to know someone like you did something exceptional.

3 thoughts on “Columbus Graffiti Throwback: DIE BSA/KNK/TLM

  1. Pingback: Nerd and Emote in Clamor Magazine Graffiti Story | swingstateofmind

Leave a comment